Heartland Magazine Lismore, Heartland Magazine Tamworth, Heartland Magazine Casino NSW, Heartland Magazine Coffs Harbour, Heartland Magazine Hunter Valley, Heartland Magazine Ballina

Ballina News Ballina Shire Australia Day Award Nominees – 11 January 2019

Ballina News, Ballina Shire Australia Day Award Nominees, Heartland Magazine News and Events Ballina

Ballina Shire Australia Day Award Nominees 

Ballina Shire Council is pleased to announce our community’s 2019 Australia Day Award nominees. These local legends have been recognised for their sporting achievements, volunteer efforts, artistic talents and contribution to our local community. 

The winners will be announced and celebrated at the upcoming Australia Day Ceremony on Saturday 26 January at the Lennox Community Centre.

Forty two nominations were received in the following categories:

Sports Award nominees:

Helen Rankin-Jarvie – Hockey Player & Administrator

Jenny Duffield – Athletics Coach

Samantha Brophy – Ice Hockey

Kyle Underwood – Golf

Arts/Cultural Award nominees:

Ballina Arts & Crafts Centre Inc (BACCI)

Brian Pamphilon

Sprung!! Integrated Dance Theatre

Suzanne Whiteman 

Young Citizen of the Year nominees:

Alexandra Lapham

Chloe Pratt

Finn Ball

Tara Coughlan

Senior Citizen of the Year nominees:

Anne Sharpe

The Late Bonnie Donnelly (posthumous)

The Late Jane Hunt (posthumous)

Lloyd Jansson

John and Helen Niven

Marie and Gordon Jarrett

Marie Caldwell 

Pat and Jeanette Kennedy

Tweed, Byron and Ballina Community Transport (Volunteer Team)

Joan Hurley 

Local Hero of the Year nominees:

Carol Stacey

Damon Moloney

Geoff Alexander

Karen Wilson

Kevin Anderson

Maria Matthes

Marjorie Steinhardt

Robert Sword 

Jack Barden

Sarah Gent

Community Event of the Year nominees:

2018 Australian National Men’s Masters Hockey Championships (Ballina Hockey Club)

Ballina Community Market

Boomerang Bags Lennox Head

Ballina Rotary Club Duck Race

Love Lennox Festival

Melbourne Cup Day Luncheon – Ballina Meals on Wheels

Our Kids Day Out

Rebuilding from the Rubble – Ballina on Richmond Rotary Club

Rainbow Region Dragon Boat Regatta

The winners and Citizen of the Year will be chosen from one of the above categories by the Australia Day Committee. Last year’s Citizen of the Year, Graham Marlowe will make the special presentation.

The Australia Day Ceremony is a free community event and includes a special guest address by rugby great Matthew Burke OAM, Welcome to Country, Citizenship Ceremony, music performances by Katie Rutledge, dance performance and the highly anticipated Ballina Shire Australia Day Awards. 

The ceremony will commence at 9am on Saturday 26 January 2019 in the Lennox Community Centre.

For more information about Australia Day program of events, visit ballina.nsw.gov.au (search Australia Day).

error: Content is protected !!