Heartland Magazine Lismore, Heartland Magazine Tamworth, Heartland Magazine Casino NSW, Heartland Magazine Coffs Harbour, Heartland Magazine Hunter Valley, Heartland Magazine Ballina

Rous County Council re-elects Cr Keith Williams as chairperson

Rous County Council, Heartland Magazine, Lismore Advertising

Rous County Council re-elects Cr Keith Williams as chairperson

Cr Keith Williams (Ballina Shire Council) has been re-elected chairperson and Cr Sharon Cadwallader (Ballina Shire Council) elected deputy chairperson at Rous County Council’s annual election.

The councillors, who will hold office for one year, were elected by unanimous vote at the Council meeting on the 22nd October 2019.
This will be Cr Williams’ third and final term as chairperson before the New South Wales local government elections next year.

Cr Williams said: “I look forward to leading Council as we consolidate our efforts so far to meet the challenges ahead, especially with regard to securing water in the long term in a way that is sustainable for the community and the environment.”

Cr Cadwallader said: “I’m honoured to have been elected deputy chairperson for an organisation that has gone from strength to strength since its amalgamation. Alongside the chairperson and councillors, I look forward to working for the community to provide the best service possible for the region’s bulk water supply, weed biosecurity and flood mitigation.”
Councillors are elected for a four-year term with the chairperson and deputy chairperson being elected annually by the councillors.

Rous County Council is governed by eight councillors with two nominated from each of its constituent councils of Ballina, Byron, Lismore and Richmond Valley.

Rous County Council’s other six councillors are:

– Cr Vanessa Ekins (Lismore City Council)
– Cr Basil Cameron (Byron Shire Council)
– Cr Simon Richardson (Byron Shire Council)
– Cr Darlene Cook (Lismore City Council)
– Cr Sandra Humphrys (Richmond Valley Council)
– Cr Robert Mustow (Richmond Valley Council)

For further information, please contact Keri Algar, Communications and Engagement Officer, on 0428 471 730.

error: Content is protected !!